FYB207


Innovative SARS-CoV-2 blocker

Formycon is developing FYB207, an innovative antiviral drug for the treatment of COVID-19 based on a long-acting ACE2-IgG-Fc fusion molecule.

Current development status

In vitro laboratory studies
Preclinical phase
Clinical phase

Mode of action


SARS-CoV-2 and other coronaviruses use the protein ACE2 on the surface of human cells as a portal of entry for respiratory infections. The viral spike-1 protein binds to ACE2 on the surface of the target cells. After docking, the virus is taken up into the cell.

Laboratory studies showed that the addition of soluble ACE2 blocked the coronaviruses SARS-Cov-2 and SARS-CoV, preventing infection of cells. ACE2 also has a natural enzyme activity in the cardiovascular system that provides potential protection for the lungs, heart and kidney from threatening organ failure. Formycon has therefore fused the human ACE2 protein with the constant part of human immunoglobulin to create an innovative COVID-19 drug (FYB207) that is protected against viral mutations, completely prevents cell infection in vitro, and can potentially be used against all coronaviruses that use ACE2 as a portal of entry for cell infection.

SARS-CoV-2 infection pathway

Composition of the FYB207 fusion protein

FYB207’s mechanism of action


Possible fields of application (indications)


Formycon is initially developing FYB207 for hospitalized COVID-19 patients for which no sufficiently effective drugs currently exist. Other possible indications include newly infected COVID-19 patients without symptoms and preventive use, e.g., in caring facilities.

FYB207 can potentially be used to target all coronaviruses that use ACE2 as a port of entry and thus also serves as a precaution for future corona pandemics.

Due to the potential organ protective function through ACE2 enzyme activity, another indication for FYB207 would be Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS) of various etiologies.


Our development work


Different variants of the virus blocker were investigated in laboratory scale for manufacturability, stability and virus inhibition. A recently published study on the neutralization of SARS-CoV-2 variants-of-concern Alpha (B.1.17) and Beta (B.1.351) by Formycon’s ACE2 fusion protein FYB207, performed by Formycon together with its academic partners Prof. Dr. Ulrike Protzer, Chair of Virology, and Prof. Dr. Johannes Buchner, Chair of Biotechnology, Technical University of Munich (TUM) (Research Square Preprint: https://www.researchsquare.com/article/rs-459941/v1), shows efficient in vitro neutralization of the coronavirus variants in the picomolar range. The study was conducted with two drug candidates (FYB207a, FYB207b) of the ACE2 fusion protein and builds on previously published data of four FYB207 drug candidates published by Formycon in collaboration with the TUM scientists (BioRxiv Preprint: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.12.06.413443). Recent studies with FYB207a show that Formycon’s ACE2 fusion protein also has strong binding to the viral spike protein of the SARS-CoV-2 Delta variant (B.1.617.2). In summary, these laboratory data demonstrate that FYB207 retains its full antiviral potential even in the rapidly spreading SARS-CoV-2 variants-of-concern.

The poster presentation for the international “Keystone Symposia – Antibodies and Vaccines as Drugs for COVID-19” can be found here.


Next milestones

In the ongoing in vivo preclinical studies, pharmacokinetics data are being collected in two different models and efficacy data are being generated in another model for FYB207a and FYB207b. The analysis of the study results is expected to be completed in November. To select the appropriate FYB207 drug candidate further efficacy data are required prior to initiation of clinical trials. Clinical development is expected to start in the first half of 2022.


Award


As part of the 22nd Pharma Trend Image & Innovation Awards, which were presented in September 2021
under the patronage of Bavarian Health Minister Klaus Holetschek, MdL, Formycon’s COVID-19 drug development FYB207 received the award “The Most Innovative Product®” in the category of Leap Innovations. In this category companies that will receive funding from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) or the Free State of Bavaria for the development of COVID-19 therapies in 2021 were eligible to apply. In July 2021, Formycon received the commitment of the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy (StMWi) for up to 12.7 million euros to fund the further development of the COVID-19 drug FYB207.

FYB207


Innovativer SARS-CoV-2-Blocker

Mit FYB207 entwickelt Formycon ein innovatives antivirales Medikament für die Behandlung von COVID-19 auf der Basis eines langwirksamen ACE2-IgG-Fc Fusionsmoleküls.

Entwicklungsstand

In-vitro-Laborstudien
Präklinische Entwicklung
Klinische Prüfung

Wirkmechanismus


SARS-CoV-2 und andere Coronaviren nutzen das Protein ACE2 auf der Oberfläche menschlicher Zellen als Eintrittspforte für die Infektion der Atemwege. Das virale Spike-1 Protein bindet dabei an ACE2 auf der Oberfläche der Zielzellen. Nach dem Andocken wird das Virus in die Zelle aufgenommen.

Laborstudien zeigten, dass die Zugabe von löslichem ACE2 die Coronaviren SARS-Cov-2 und SARS-CoV blockiert und dadurch eine Infektion der Zellen verhindert. ACE2 besitzt darüber hinaus eine natürliche Enzymaktivität im Herz-Kreislaufsystem die potenziellen Schutz für Lunge, Herz und Niere vor einem bedrohlichen Organversagen bietet. Formycon hat daher das humane ACE2-Protein mit dem konstanten Teil des humanen Immunglobulins fusioniert und damit einen innovativen COVID-19-Wirkstoff (FYB207) geschaffen, der gegen Virusmutationen geschützt ist, die Zellinfektion in vitro vollständig verhindert und potenziell gegen alle Coronaviren eingesetzt werden kann, die ACE2 als Eintrittspforte für die Infektion der Zellen nutzen.

SARS-CoV-2-Infektionsweg

Zusammensetzung des FYB207-Fusionsproteins

Wirkmechanismus von FYB207


Mögliche Anwendungsgebiete (Indikationen)


Formycon entwickelt FYB207 zunächst für hospitalisierte COVID-19 Patienten, für die es bisher keine ausreichend wirksamen Medikamente gibt. Weitere mögliche Indikationen sind neu infizierte COVID-19 Patienten ohne Symptome sowie die präventive Verabreichung, z.B. in Pflegeinrichtungen.

FYB207 kann potenziell gegen allen Coronaviren eingesetzt werden, die ACE2 als Eintrittspforte benutzen und dient somit auch der Vorsorge für zukünftige Corona Pandemien.

Aufgrund der möglichen Organschutzfunktion durch die ACE2 Enzymaktivität wäre ein weiteres Indikationsgebiet für FYB207 das akute Lungenversagen (Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome ARDS) unterschiedlicher Ätiologie.


Unsere Entwicklungsschritte


In Laborstudien wurden verschiedene Varianten des Virusblockers auf Herstellbarkeit, Stabilität, Enzymaktivität und Virusinhibition untersucht. Eine kürzlich veröffentlichte Studie zur Neutralisierung der SARS-CoV-2 Variants-of-Concern Alpha (B.1.17) und Beta (B.1.351) durch Formycons ACE2-Fusionsprotein FYB207, die Formycon gemeinsam mit ihren akademischen Partnern Prof. Dr. Ulrike Protzer, Lehrstuhl für Virologie, und Prof. Dr. Johannes Buchner, Lehrstuhl für Biotechnologie der Technischen Universität München (TUM) durchgeführt hat (Research Square Preprint: https://www.researchsquare.com/article/rs-459941/v1), zeigt eine effiziente In-vitro-Neutralisation der Coronavirus-Varianten im picomolaren Bereich. Die Studie wurde mit zwei Wirkstoffkandidaten (FYB207a, FYB207b) des ACE2-Fusionsproteins durchgeführt und baut auf den bereits veröffentlichten Daten von vier FYB207 Wirkstoffkandidaten auf, die Formycon zusammen mit den TUM-Wissenschaftlern publiziert hat (BioRxiv Preprint: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.12.06.413443). Neuste Untersuchungen mit FYB207a zeigen, dass Formycons ACE2-Fusionsprotein ebenfalls eine starke Bindung an das virale Spike Protein der SARS-CoV-2 Delta Variante (B.1.617.2) aufweist. Zusammenfassend belegen diese Labordaten, dass FYB207 sein volles antivirales Potenzial auch bei den sich schnell ausbreitenden SARS-CoV-2 Variants-of-Concern behält.

Die Posterpräsentation zum internationalen „Keystone Symposia – Antibodies and Vaccines as Drugs for COVID-19“ finden Sie hier.


Die nächsten Meilensteine

Im Rahmen der laufenden präklinischen In-vivo-Untersuchungen werden in zwei unterschiedlichen Modellen Daten zur Pharmakokinetik und in einem weiteren Modell Daten zu Wirksamkeit von FYB207a und FYB207b erhoben. Die Auswertungen der Studienergebnisse werden voraussichtlich im November abgeschlossen sein. Für die Auswahl des geeigneten FYB207 Wirkstoffkandidaten sind weitere Daten zur Wirksamkeit vor Beginn der klinischen Studien erforderlich. Der Start der klinischen Entwicklung wird voraussichtlich im ersten Halbjahr 2022 erfolgen.


Auszeichnung


Im Rahmen der 22. Pharma Trend Image & Innovation Awards, die im September 2021 unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bayerischen Gesundheitsministers Klaus Holetschek, MdL, verliehen wurden, erhielt Formycon‘s COVID-19-Arzneimittelentwicklung FYB207 die Auszeichnung „Das Innovativste Produkt®“ in der Kategorie Sprunginnovationen. Hierbei wurden Unternehmen berücksichtigt, die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) oder dem Land Bayern zur Entwicklung von COVID-19 Therapien im Jahr 2021 mit Fördergeldern gefördert werden. Im Juli 2021 erhielt Formycon die Zusage des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie (StMWi) in Höhe von bis zu 12,7 Millionen Euro zur Förderung der weiteren Entwicklung des COVID-19-Medikaments FYB207.