FYB201


Ranibizumab biosimilar candidate

The product candidate in our development pipeline closest to completion is FYB201, a candidate biosimilar to the blockbuster ophthalmic drug ranibizumab (reference product: Lucentis®)*

Reference

Lucentis®


Indication

Ophthalmology


Partner

Bioeq AG


Current development status

Preclinical phase
Clinical phase III
Submission
Approval

Scope of therapeutic indication


Ranibizumab is used in the treatment of various eye diseases in adults which cause damage to the retina, thereby impairing vision. In these diseases, a protein called vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) causes excessive blood vessels to form within the retina, resulting in a progressive loss of central vision. In many cases, this process leads to a severe visual impairment or even blindness.

Due to the increasing aging in our society, the proportion of the population affected by age-related macular degeneration (AMD) has increased significantly in over recent years and decades. Today, AMD is the leading cause of blindness in developed countries among people over 50. The disease causes 32 percent of new blindness, followed by glaucoma and diabetic retinopathy, each at 16 percent. According to the UN, 20 to 25 million people worldwide are affected, and approximately 500,000 new cases are diagnosed each year. Estimates suggest that the number of cases could grow to around 70 million worldwide in the next 30 years.

In Germany alone, 4.5 million people suffer from age-related macular degeneration (AMD). In the advanced stage of the disease, a distinction is made between a dry and a wet form of macular degeneration, while around 10-15% of all AMD patients suffer from the more dangerous form of neovascular, age-related, respectively wet macular degeneration (nAMD). Here, proliferating pathological new blood vessels in the retina cause the faster progressive loss of central vision.

In this case ranibizumab plays an important role in the treatment of neovascular or “wet” age-related macular degeneration (nAMD). Treatment with ranibizumab inhibits certain growth factors involved in the formation of new vessels, with the result that deterioration of visual performance can be slowed down or even stopped altogether.


Our development work

 


Following the achievement of key milestones in the development of our first biosimilar candidate, FYB201, we were able to sign a major out-licensing deal with Santo Holding (Deutschland) GmbH in 2013. Polpharma Biologics Group B.V., Poland’s largest pharmaceutical company, subsequently acquired a 50 percent stake in the project, then Santo Holding and Polpharma together established a joint venture entity, Bioeq AG, to which FYB201 was transferred. In 2022, Formycon acquired Santo Holding (Deutschland) GmbH’s respectively ATHOS KG’s 50 percent share in Bioeq AG in a transaction and thus holds half of the project and commercialization rights to FYB201.

Global phase III clinical trials (COLUMBUS-AMD) of FYB201 were initiated in early 2016, under the direction and responsibility of Bioeq AG. The study, planned in close coordination with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the European Medicines Agency (EMA), aims to prove the comparability of FYB201 with Lucentis® in patients with neovascular age-related macular degeneration (nAMD) in terms of safety, efficacy and immunogenicity. With the attainment of the study’s primary endpoint in May 2018, it has now been clinically demonstrated that the efficacy of FYB201 in patients with nAMD is comparable to that of Lucentis®.

In addition to the biosimilar medicine itself, we are also developing our own proprietary application system for administering the drug, which should help to further improve FYB201’s market position.


The market


Ranibizumab is, along with aflibercept, among the most widely used anti-vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGFs) today. In 2021, Lucentis® generated global sales of around USD 3.6 billion.


Approval

On May 17, 2022, the UK Medicines and Healthcare Regulatory Agency (MHRA) became the first regulatory authority to give the green light for FYB201 in the United Kingdom. Thereby FYB201 is expected to be the first biosimilar to Lucentis® to be marketed in Europe.

With the positive opinion by the Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) of the EMA on June 24, 2022, a further important step towards approval in Europe has been achieved. The subsequent decision of the European Commission and the associated EU approval of FYB201 is expected this summer. The approval process with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) continues to proceed as planned with a target action date of August 2, 2022.

FYB201 will be marketed by Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. in the United Kingdom under the name Ongavia®**. If approved by the FDA on August 2, 2022, U.S. partner Coherus BioSciences, Inc. plans to launch FYB201 under the trade name CIMERLI™*** in the second half of 2022. In addition, MS Pharma will distribute FYB201 in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region upon approval by the relevant regulatory authority.


* Lucentis is a registered trademark of Genentech, Inc.
** Ongavia is a registered trademark of Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.
*** CIMERLI™ is a trademark of Coherus BioSciences, Inc.

FYB201


Ranibizumab-Biosimilarkandidat

Das am weitesten fortgeschrittene Produkt unserer Pipeline ist FYB201, ein Biosimilarkandidat des ophthalmologischen Blockbuster-Arzneimittels Ranibizumab (Referenzprodukt: Lucentis®)*

Referenz

Lucentis®


Indikation

Ophthalmologie


Partner

Bioeq AG


Entwicklungsstand

Präklinische Phase
Klinische Phase III
Zulassungsantrag
Zulassung

Indikationsgebiet


Ranibizumab wird bei Erwachsenen zur Behandlung verschiedener Augenerkrankungen angewendet, die Schäden an der Netzhaut (Retina) verursachen und zu einer Beeinträchtigung des Sehvermögens führen. Dabei verursacht der sogenannte endotheliale Wachstumsfaktor (VEGF) eine übermäßige Bildung von Blutgefäßen in der Netzhaut, was einen fortschreitenden Verlust des zentralen Sehens zur Folge hat. In vielen Fällen kommt es dabei zu einer hochgradigen Sehbehinderung oder gar Blindheit.

Durch die zunehmende Alterung der Gesellschaft hat der Anteil der von altersbedingter Makuladegeneration (AMD) betroffenen Menschen in den vergangenen Jahren und Jahrzehnten deutlich zugenommen. Heute ist AMD in den Industriestaaten die Hauptursache für Erblindung in der Gruppe der über Fünfzigjährigen. Genau genommen verursacht die Krankheit 32 Prozent der Neuerblindungen, gefolgt von Glaukom und diabetischer Retinopathie mit je 16 Prozent. Weltweit sind laut der UN 20 bis 25 Millionen Menschen davon betroffen und jährlich kommen zirka 500.000 Neuerkrankungen hinzu. Schätzungen gehen davon aus, dass die Zahl der Erkrankungen in den nächsten 30 Jahren auf etwa 70 Millionen weltweit anwachsen könnte.

In Deutschland leiden vermutlich 4,5 Millionen Menschen an AMD. Dabei wird in fortgeschrittenem Krankheitsstadium zwischen einer trockenen und einer feuchten Form der Makuladegeneration unterschieden. Rund 10-15% aller AMD-Betroffenen leiden dabei an der gefährlicheren Form, der neovaskulären altersbedingten bzw. feuchten Makuladegeneration (nAMD). Hierbei verursachen in die Netzhaut einwuchernde krankhafte neue Blutgefäße den schneller voranschreitenden Sehverlust.

Der Wirkstoff Ranibizumab spielt dabei in der Therapie der neovaskulären bzw. feuchten AMD (nAMD) eine wichtige Rolle. Durch die Behandlung mit Ranibizumab werden bestimmte Wachstumsfaktoren, die an der Bildung neuer Gefäße beteiligt sind gehemmt. Dadurch kann ein Verschlechterung der Sehleistung verlangsamt oder sogar gänzlich gestoppt werden.


Unsere Entwicklungsschritte


Nachdem wir bei der Entwicklung unseres ersten Biosimiliar-Kandidaten signifikante Meilensteine erreicht hatten, konnten wir FYB201 im Jahr 2013 erfolgreich an die Santo Holding GmbH auslizenzieren. In der Folge beteiligte sich der größte polnische Arzneimittelhersteller, die Polpharma Biologics Group B.V., mit 50 Prozent an dem Projekt. Santo Holding und Polpharma gründeten daraufhin das Joint Venture Bioeq AG und brachten FYB201 in diese Gesellschaft ein. Im Jahr 2022 übernahm Formycon im Rahmen einer Transaktion den 50 Prozent-Anteil der Santo Holding GmbH bzw. ATHOS KG an der Bioeq AG und hält damit die Hälfte der Projekt- und Kommerzialisierungsrechte an FYB201.

Unter der Verantwortung der Bioeq wurde Anfang 2016 eine globale klinische Phase-III- Studie (COLUMBUS-AMD) mit FYB201 gestartet. Die Studie, die in Abstimmung mit der US-Arzneimittelbehörde FDA sowie mit der europäischen Zulassungsbehörde EMA entwickelt worden war, hatte zum Ziel, bei Patienten mit neovaskulärer altersbedingter Makuladegeneration (nAMD) die Vergleichbarkeit von FYB201 mit Lucentis® hinsichtlich Sicherheit, Wirksamkeit und Immunogenität nachzuweisen. Im Mai 2018 wurde der primäre Endpunkt erreicht und damit die vergleichbare Wirksamkeit von FYB201 und dem Referenzarzneimittel Lucentis® bei Patienten mit nAMD belegt.

Neben dem eigentlichen Biosimilar entwickeln wir auch ein eigenes Applikationssystem zur Verabreichung des Wirkstoffes. Dies soll dazu beitragen, die Marktposition von FYB201 weiter zu verbessern.


Der Markt


Ranibizumab zählt neben Aflibercept zu den am häufigsten angewandten Anti-vaskulären endothelialen Wachstumsfaktoren (VEGFs). Im Jahr 2021 hat Lucentis® einen globalen Umsatz von ca. 3,6 Milliarden US-Dollar erwirtschaftet.


Zulassung

Nach der Zulassung von FYB201 in Großbritannien durch die UK Medicines and Healthcare Regulatory Agency (MHRA) am 17. Mai 2022 hat die U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) FYB201 am 02. August 2022 als erstes Biosimilar für Lucentis®* zur automatischen Substitution zugelassen. Damit stellt FYB201, das in den USA ab Oktober 2022 durch Coherus BioSciences, Inc unter dem Handelsnamen CIMERLI™** vertrieben werden soll eine medizinische Behandlungsoption für alle fünf Lucentis®-Indikationen dar.

Mit der Zulassungsentscheidung durch die Europäische Kommission wird Ende August gerechnet. Bereits am 24. Juni hatte der Ausschuss für Humanmedizin / Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) der EMA eine positive Stellungsnahme zu FYB201 veröffentlicht.

In Europa und Großbritannien wird das Medikament künftig durch Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. unter dem Namen ONGAVIA®*** (UK) bzw. RANIVISIO®**** (EU) vertrieben. Darüber hinaus wird MS Pharma FYB201 nach Zulassung durch die entsprechende Regulierungsbehörde im Nahen Osten und in Nordafrika (MENA-Region) vermarkten.


* Lucenti®s ist eine eingetragene Marke von Genentech Inc.
** CIMERLI™ ist eine Marke von Coherus BioSciences, Inc.
*** ONGAVIA® ist eine eingetragene Marke von Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.
****RANIVISIO® ist eine eingetragene Marke der Bioeq AG