Biosimilars


Similar in quality, efficacy and safety

Biosimilars represent a new class of highly effective medicines at affordable prices


What are biosimilars?


Biosimilars are biologic drugs which are approved based upon their high similarity to existing “reference” biopharmaceuticals, specifically in terms of their quality, safety and therapeutic efficacy. Biosimilar medicines are submitted for regulatory approval in the world’s most stringently regulated markets, including the European Union, the United States, Canada, Japan and Australia, so that they may be brought to market upon their term of patent expiration of on the respective reference drug.

Biosimilar medicines represent a rapidly growing new area of pharmaceutical biotechnology, analytical science and clinical research. Their development requires a fundamentally different approach to that used for originator biopharmaceuticals, with analytical design playing a particularly important role. Biosimilars are produced under strictly controlled conditions, using state-of-the-art biotechnology to ensure the highest quality standards.

Comparison of biosimilar (left) to conventional generic drug (right):

BiosimilarsLarge and highly complex biomolecules produced by living cells

Conventional generic drugsRelatively small, simple molecules produced through chemical synthesis


Development and production of biosimilar medicines


Because of their size and structural complexity, and their production using living cell systems, biosimilars require very significant time, effort and expertise, both in their development and in their subsequent production.

The central principle in the development of any biosimilar medicine is its high similarity with an established reference biopharmaceutical. To achieve regulatory approval, the producer of the biosimilar must conclusively demonstrate that its quality, safety and efficacy are entirely comparable to the reference drug.

The time it takes to complete the development of a biosimilar is, on average, seven to eight years. Their development involves a series of stages which are both necessary and complex. Because of the great challenges involved in developing and producing Biosimilar medicines, there are only a very limited number of companies in the world with the know-how and capabilities to develop and produce these new-generation medicines, particularly when it comes to meeting the strict regulatory standards of the world’s highly regulated markets.

The development of a new biosimilar medicine involves five key phases


The regulatory approval process for biosimilar medicines


Approvals for Formycon’s biosimilars are generally made by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Both agencies subject biosimilar medicines to a throrough scientific assessment of quality, safety and efficacy before being released by the European Commission for commercialization in the European-, or by FDA for the US market. In Europe, the first Biosimilar was approved in 2006 and in the US in 2015.

Biosimilar medicines require a far greater investment of time and effort to gain regulatory approval than conventional generic drugs. To attain regulatory approval, the producer of the biosimilar must conclusively demonstrate that the quality, safety and efficacy of the biosimilar are highly similar to that of the reference biopharmaceutical. These high standards are attained through intensive analytical testing, clinical trials, and state-of-the-art production processes.


The market for biosimilars


Biosimilar medicines are currently the most rapidly growing segment of the world’s pharmaceutical market. Analysts estimate that, by the year 2025, biopharmaceutical drugs with combined annual revenue of some USD 100 billion will lose their term of patent. The global market for biosimilar medicines, currently estimated at approx. USD 5 billion, could grow to roughly USD 30 billion by the year 2025, in the view of industry experts.

While biopharmaceuticals are remarkably effective at treating serious diseases, they are generally also very costly, posing a financial burden for the healthcare systems even of wealthy developed countries. Because biosimilar medicines offer a Treatment alternative to doctors, pharmacists and patients, thereby creating new competition in the drug market, they help to reduce the costs to healthcare systems while also making these highly effective drug treatments available to more patients.

More information may be found in various sources, such as the Handbook of Biosimilars (Handbuch Biosimilars) published by the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Pro Biosimilars (available in German only).

Quelle: IQVIA, BCC Research, annual reports of originator product manufacturer


Discover our biosimilar candidates

FYB201


Ranibizumab
biosimilar candidate

more

FYB202


Ustekinumab
biosimilar candidate

more

FYB203


Aflibercept
biosimilar candidate

more

Biosimilars


In Qualität, Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit vergleichbar

Biosimilars sind eine junge, effektive und wettbewerbsfähige Arzneimittel­klasse


Was sind Biosimilars?


Biosimilars sind zugelassene biopharmazeutische Arzneimittel, die hinsichtlich Qualität, Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit sehr ähnlich (bio-similar) zu einem biologischen Referenzprodukt sind. Sie werden in hoch regulierten Märkten wie der EU, den USA, Kanada, Japan und Australien nach strengen regulatorischen Verfahren zugelassen und nach dem Auslaufen der gesetzlichen Schutzfrist des Referenzproduktes auf den Markt gebracht.

Biosimilars sind ein schnell wachsendes und noch recht junges Segment in der pharmazeutischen Biotechnologie, analytischen Wissenschaft und klinischen Forschung. Ihre Entwicklung verlangt eine grundlegend andere Herangehensweise als bei den originalen Biopharmazeutika, wobei insbesondere das analytische Design eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Biosimilars werden auf der Basis neuester Technologien und unter Einhaltung hoher Qualitätsstandards hergestellt.

Vergleich Biosimilar (links) und Generikum (rechts):

BiosimilarsGroße komplexe Moleküle, die aus lebenden Zellen produziert werden

GenerikaMeist kleine synthetische Moleküle


Entwicklung und Produktion von Biosimilars


Die Entwicklung und Herstellung von Biosimilars ist aufgrund ihres komplexen Aufbaus und ihrer Herstellung in lebenden Zellsystemen aufwendig sowie zeitintensiv und verlangt eine große Expertise.

Das wichtigste Prinzip bei der Entwicklung eines Biosimilars ist die Vergleichbarkeit mit dem Referenzarzneimittel. Dabei müssen die Produzenten sicherstellen, dass die Qualität, Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit mit dem Referenzprodukt sehr ähnlich sind.

Im Durchschnitt liegt die Entwicklungsdauer eines Biosimilars bei sieben bis acht Jahren, wobei alle wesentlichen Schritte einer Arzneimittelentwicklung abgedeckt werden müssen. Aufgrund der anspruchsvollen Entwicklung und Produktion von Biosimilars gibt es weltweit nur wenige Unternehmen, die solche Medikamente für hochregulierte Märkte mit ihren strengen regulatorischen Anforderungen entwickeln und herstellen können.

Biosimilars durchlaufen in ihrer Entwicklung fünf Phasen:


Zulassung von Biosimilars


Grundsätzlich erfolgen die Zulassungen für Biosimilars durch die European Medicines Agency (EMA) und die U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Beide Behörden unterziehen Biosimilars einer strengen wissenschaftlichen Bewertung hinsichtlich Qualität, Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit, bevor sie durch die Europäische Kommission zur Vermarktung für den europäischen bzw. von der FDA für den US-amerikanischen Markt freigegeben werden. In Europa wurde das erste Biosimilar im Jahr 2006, in den USA im Jahr 2015 zugelassen.

Der Aufwand für eine Zulassung ist bei Biosimilars ungleich höher als bei herkömmlichen generischen Medikamenten. Um die Zulassung der Arzneimittelbehörden zu bekommen, müssen die Biosimilarhersteller nachweisen, dass ihr Produkt hinsichtlich Qualität, Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit sehr ähnlich zum Referenzprodukt ist. Dies wird durch intensive analytische Tests, klinische Studien und hochmoderne Fertigungsprozesse erreicht.


Der Markt für Biosimilars


Biosimilars sind das derzeit am schnellsten wachsende Segment des Pharmamarktes. Analysten schätzen, dass bis 2025 Biopharmazeutika mit einem Umsatz von 100 Milliarden Dollar ihren Patentschutz verlieren werden. Der weltweite Umsatz mit Biosimilars, der derzeit rund fünf Milliarden Dollar beträgt, könnte nach Meinung von Branchenkennern bis 2025 auf rund 30 Milliarden Dollar ansteigen.

Da Biopharmazeutika bei der Behandlung ernster Erkrankungen zwar sehr effektiv, oftmals aber auch sehr teuer sind, stellen sie selbst für die Gesundheitssysteme reicher Industrieländer eine große finanzielle Belastung dar. Biosimilars sind für Ärzte, Apotheker und Patienten eine echte therapeutische Alternative und sorgen für Wettbewerb im Arzneimittelmarkt. Somit tragen sie zur finanziellen Entlastung der Gesundheitssysteme bei und verbessern die Verfügbarkeit hoch effektiver Arzneimittel für die Patienten.

Weitergehende Informationen finden Sie unter anderem im Handbuch Biosimilars der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Pro Biosimilars.

Quelle: IQVIA, BCC Research, annual reports of originator product manufacturer


Entdecken Sie die Biosimilar-Kandidaten

FYB201


Ranibizumab
Biosimilar-Kandidat

mehr

FYB202


Ustekinumab
Biosimilar-Kandidat

mehr

FYB203


Aflibercept
Biosimilar-Kandidat

mehr